In a "Build Your Own" project, participants will be private and data will not be shared with us. This means that only your contacts and collaborators will be able to view and participate in your project. With this in mind, we know it's important for you to understand what the participant experience will be like.
The first interaction your participants will have with you (and your private project) is an invitation to apply for your study.
Below is an example of the email invitation that a potential participant will receive when they are invited into your study. You'll notice a few things:
In order to capture your participant's contact information (and make sure they are interested in being a part of your study), we request some light contact information: first name, last name, and email address.
This information remains in your participant population, and will never been shared or added into our general population database.
Once they've provided their contact information, they will be asked to complete your screener survey. The following example is short and sweet, however, you can add as many questions, pages, and as much logic as you need.
When a participant has completed the screener, they've arrive at a page confirming that their feedback has been submitted. For them, it is a waiting game from this point on. If they are approved for the study, their experience will continue. If not, this is the last interaction they will have with our system until you invite them to another study.
When you approve a candidate, an email (that looks like the sample below) will trigger, immediately inviting them to sign up for your study. Keep in mind that an approved participant is not a confirmed participant. They still need to follow the steps to make sure they are available and confirm their spot.
Once a participant has elected to be part of your study by confirmed a spot, they will receive your confirmation email with any additional details they need to know. It's important that, as a researcher, you update your confirmation email before approving people to ensure they are receiving the most accurate information at the time of signup.