Help & Support

How does the Messages tool work?

Easily get in touch with participants one-by-one or as a group.

written by
JP Allen
Last updated:
April 8, 2020

Our messages tool gives you a quick, simple line of communication with participants. Message alerts are sent to participants via text and email, encouraging them to log into their account and view their conversation with you.  

In This Article

  • New Message Alerts
  • Managing Email Notifications
  • Using the Messages Tool
  • Bulk Messaging
  • Messaging Unqualified Participants (Advanced Screening Projects Only)

New Message Alerts

When a participant sends a new message to you, you'll receive an email alert. It will share the details of the message. To respond, click the link in the email (see below) and go to the project workspace. 


Keep in mind: Replying to an email alert directly will send your message to our support team (not the participant).

Managing Email Notifications

Each collaborator will be able to turn email notifications about a project on or off. These notifications include the message alerts. Click the bell icon in the top righthand corner of the black menu bar to toggle your email notifications on and off.

Notifications are turned off based on the following setting:

Notifications are turned on based on the following setting:

If you are not receiving our notifications, but your email notifications are turned on, email projects@userinterviews.com for assistance.

Using the Messages Tool

To access your messages, click "Messages" under the Communicate section in the left hand menu.

You'll only be able to message a participant once they've confirmed themselves for your study. If you'd like to speak with qualified candidates for further review before approving them (a steps that allows them to confirm and schedule themselves), check out our Advanced Screening option.

To message someone, click on the name of the participant in the left hand navigation to open your message box. All messages that you send out will be stored in this tool with a time stamp.

When a participant responds, their name will move towards the top of the left side menu with an updated time stamp. If a new message has come through, click the green bar to refresh the conversation.


Bulk Messaging

Sometimes, it can be handy to message multiple participants at once—for instance, if you want to:

  • Send a videoconferencing link to all confirmed participants.
  • Update completed participants about incentive payment.
  • Message participants who you rated highly but who didn't participate in your project, letting them know you'll be running similar research in the future.

Bulk messaging is as simple as applying the filters you want to use and clicking Actions > Message participants in the Participants view.

A dialog box will appear, asking you to confirm your filters and type your message:

Messaging Unqualified Participants (Advanced Screening Projects Only)

For projects with Advanced Screening, you also have the option to message unqualified participants. This can be useful for following up with applicants who didn't quite pass your screener, but who you think could still be a fit.

To message unqualified participants, head to the "Participants" section of the project workspace and click on an individual participant to view their profile. Once inside the profile, click the "View Messages" button:

For a quick walkthrough of how to find and message unqualified participants on an advanced screening project, refer to the screen recording below:

Questions about your project? Drop us a line!

Was this page helpful?
YesNo

Related topics

New to User Interviews? Get started for free 👇

Need Help?
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.