Help & Support

How do I invite participants into a private project?

Uploading contacts and inviting potential participants to a private project in Research Hub.

written by
Melanie
Last updated:
September 30, 2019

There are three possible ways to invite participants into a private project—the choice is yours!

Here's some guidance to help you pick the right option:

  • If you'd like to select participants from a specific subset of your existing population, go with option #1.
  • If you'd like to invite new users to an existing project, go with option #2.
  • If you'd like to invite participants to a project on a rolling basis, go with option #3.

Option #1: Invite existing contacts in your population to a project

In under 2 minutes, we'll show you how to invite contacts from your population into your upcoming or new project.

Video Highlights

  1. Identify who you'd like to invite into your study. Our filter and label functionality is great for narrowing down your list into segments.
  2. Select the participants you want to invite by selecting the checkbox to the left of their email.
  3. Click the "Invite to project" button in the lower right hand corner.
  4. From the pop-up module, select an existing project or create a new one. Click "Invite".
  5. If you are inviting participants to an existing project, you'll be asked to review and finalize your custom invitation.
  6. If you are inviting participants to a new project, you'll be taken through the setup process to build your project. When you launch it, the selected participants will be notified immediately.

Option #2: Invite new contacts to an existing project

  1. Visit your project dashboard.
  2. Under the overview tab, you'll see invitation options.
  3. Click "Invite Participants".
  4. You'll be asked to upload a CSV file and map your fields.
  5. Once you have your invite list ready, you'll be asked to edit and finalize your custom email invitation.
  6. Click "Send Invites".

Something worth noting: Our system will automatically suppress anyone on a new upload who has already responded to your invite, either by completing the screener or confirming their spot in the study.

Here's an extra pro-tip: Want to send out reminders? Follow the steps in option #2. Upload a previously used list and edit your invitation email's subject line to include "Reminder: [Your Text]". This will trigger the same invitation, but make it look slightly different for people who have yet to sign up.

Option #3: Share an invitation link

  1. Visit your project dashboard.
  2. Under the overview tab, you'll see invitation options.
  3. Copy your unique link and share it wherever you like.
  4. If you opted out of having a screener, this works similar to a scheduling tool, allowing people to simply pick a time or confirm their spot from the link.

Bonus Tips:

  • For options #1 and #2, our system will automatically suppress anyone on a new upload who has already responded to your invite, either by completing the screener or confirming their spot in the study.
  • Want to send out reminders? Follow the steps in option #2. Upload a previously used list and edit your invitation email's subject line to include "Reminder: [Your Text]". This will trigger the same invitation, but make it look slightly different for people who have yet to sign up.

Questions? Email projects@userinterviews.com for help!

Was this page helpful?
YesNo

Related topics

New to User Interviews? Get started for free 👇

Need Help?
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.