Help & Support

How do I create and share meeting links with participants?

written by
Brittany Rutherford
Last updated:
June 10, 2021

Creating + Sharing Meeting Links

For online studies, you'll need to create and share a meeting link with a participant.

If you'd like to use Zoom meeting links, we have an integration for that! With the Zoom integration you can automatically generate unique links, making things really easy. Check out our Zoom integration support guide for more information.

If you'd like to share a Google Meet, GoToMeeting, Webex, Lookback, etc. link with a participant, we'll share how to do that below.

Moderators 

The project owner or any project collaborator can update the default or session moderator.

Default moderator 

The default moderator can be the project owner or any of the project collaborators. You can set the default moderator during project creation, or anytime after the project has launched. Updating the default moderator will update all confirmed sessions, including those with session moderators, to the new default moderator.

  • If the default moderator changes, the link field will automatically update for confirmed participants. You can set the default modeterator when creating the study, or once the study has launched.
  • If there is not a session moderator, the default moderator will be assigned to the session.

To set or update the default moderator on an active project: 

  1. Go to the "Session details" section of the "Project overview" tab on the active project.
  2. Select "Edit".
  3. Select the a moderator from the "Default moderator" drop down.
  4. Save!
Changing the default moderator


Session moderator

The session moderator will be the default moderator unless you’ve updated the moderator on the confirmed session itself.

  • If the session moderator changes, the link field will automatically update to the new link for confirmed participants, as the email field is a variable. 
  • If there is not a session moderator, the default moderator will be assigned to the session.

Please note: you can only have 1 session moderator per session. To add additional session moderators, you'll need to manually add that person to the session on a calendar event outside of UI.

To set or update the session moderator

  1. Go to the "Confirmed sessions" tab of the active project.
  2. Select the pencil icon on the session you'd like to set or update with a session moderator.
  3. Select a moderator from the drop down.
  4. Insert the session link in the Location box.
  5. Save!
Changing the session moderator

Default vs. Session Link

Default link

A default link is set on the project level, and is the link sent to confirmed participants. Once the participant is confirmed, you can update the link on the session level. Confirmed participants receive this link in their confirmation and reminder emails. We recommend adding the default link BEFORE approving participants.

  • If the default or session link changes, the link field will automatically update to the new link for confirmed participants, as the email field is a variable. 

To set or update the default location link

  1. Go to the "Session details" section of the "Project overview" tab on the active project.
  2. Select "Edit".
  3. Input a new location link in the "Default location" field. Make sure to start your URL with "https://"!
  4. Save!


Session link

If you need to distribute unique links using a tool other than Zoom, you will need to create those links and copy/paste them as session links.

  • If the default or session link changes, the link field will automatically update to the new link for confirmed participants, as the email field is a variable. 

To set or update the session link

  1. Go to the "Confirmed sessions" tab of the active project.
  2. Select the pencil icon on the session you'd like to set or update with a session link.
  3. Input a new location link in the "Location" field. Make sure to start your URL with "https://"!
  4. Save!


*If when the participant confirmed their session there was NOT a default and/or session link, we strongly recommend adding the link no later than 24 hours before their confirmed session to ensure they receive the link in the reminder email. Links added within 24 hours of the session where there wasn’t a default and/or session link before may not be automatically emailed to the participant.

Accessing session links

You can always access a session link in the "Confirmed sessions" section of your project, as well as from the calendar event and day of sessions reminder email.

Calendar events

Your link will populate in a calendar event for synced calendars. You'll notice the link may look different—we convert your link into a variable so should you update the link (eg if you switch moderators) you'll still be able to access your session from your calendar.

Day of sessions reminder email

On the day of sessions, you'll receive an email with information for each session: the session time, participant's name, meeting link, etc. You'll notice the link may look different—we convert your link into a variable so should you update the link (eg if you switch moderators) you'll still be able to access your session from the email.

Was this page helpful?
YesNo

Related topics

New to User Interviews? Get started for free.

New to User Interviews?

Start getting paid for your feedback!