Help & Support

How do I use the Zoom integration to create and share meeting links?

written by
Brittany Rutherford
Last updated:
November 16, 2020

The Zoom + UI integration helps your team automatically generate unique Zoom links for confirmed sessions, saving the time and hassle of manually creating and sharing links with participants. The link will be included on confirmation and reminder emails to participants, so no need to send the link to them yourself. You can set the moderator at the project or session level, giving your team flexibility on who leads a session. Let’s get started!

How to connect Zoom

For more information about Zoom, check out the Zoom Troubleshooting guide.

From UI account:

1. Sign into your UI account

2. Navigate to the drop down arrow in the upper righthand corner

3. Select "Integrations"

4. Select "Connect"

5. Authorize syncing your UI + Zoom accounts

6. Congrats- you're connected! 

From the builder

1. On step 2 of the builder, "Set Up Project", navigate to "Online session details" (if an online study)

2. Select "Connect" next to to Zoom

3. Authorize syncing your UI + Zoom accounts

3. You're connected! Select Zoom for "Meeting location" if you'd like to automatically generate Zoom links for this project.

How to disconnect Zoom

From UI account:

1. Sign into your UI account

2. Navigate to the drop down arrow in the upper righthand corner

3. Select "Integrations"

2. Select "disconnect" for the Zoom sync

3. You're disconnected! If you'd like to reconnect, select the "Connect" button.

Please note that if you are a default or session moderator for a scheduled session, disconnecting your Zoom account will delete the Zoom meeting.

From Zoom App Marketplace:

  1. Sign into your Zoom account and navigate to the Zoom App Marketplace
  2. Click Manage > Installed Apps or search for the User Interviews app
  3. Click the User Interviews app
  4. Click uninstall

Automatically Generate Unique Zoom Links

Unique Zoom links will populate automatically for participants who confirm a time with the default moderator who has Zoom set as the meeting location. Confirmed participants receive this link in their confirmation and reminder emails.

Unique location links

How to add automatically generated unique Zoom links post launch

1. On the launched project, go to the "Project overview" section

2. In the "Session details" section, click "Edit"

3. Select a name from the drop down that includes the Zoom icon. That means the person has a synced Zoom account. You must select a default moderator with a synced Zoom account to activate automatically generating unique Zoom links

4. Click the checkbox for "Automatically generate unique Zoom links per session". Please not that this checkbox will not clickable if you have not selected a moderator with a synced Zoom account. Save!

5. All future sessions will have a Zoom link automatically generated with the moderator. If you had any sessions confirmed before making this update, you will need to, for each session, click the pencil icon and generate the meeting link.

Helpful tips

  • If you update the location link, the link will also be updated for the participant so when clicked they are sent to the most current location.
  • If you have changed meeting link providers after the participant was confirmed (ex. Zoom to Google Meet), we recommend letting the participant know, just so they can have any necessary software prepared and tested prior to the session.
  • If when the participant confirmed their session there was NOT a default and/or session link, we strongly recommend adding the link no later than 24 hours before their confirmed session to ensure they receive the link in the reminder email. Links added within 24 hours of the session where there wasn’t a default and/or session link before may not be automatically emailed to the participant.

Moderators 

The project owner or any project collaborator can update the default or session moderator.

Default moderator 

The default moderator can be the project owner or any of the project collaborators that have Zoom synced. You can set the default moderator during project creation, or anytime after the project has launched. Updating the default moderator will update all confirmed sessions that were with the original default moderator.

  • If the default moderator changes, the link field will automatically update for confirmed participants where the former default moderator was assigned to the session. You can set the default moderator when creating the study, or once the study has launched.
  • If there is not a session moderator, the default moderator will be assigned to the session.

To set or update the default moderator on an active project: 

1. Go to the "Session details" section of the "Project overview" tab on the active project

2. Select "Edit"

3. Select the a moderator from the "Default moderator" drop down. If they have a synced Zoom account, the Zoom logo will appear next to their name.

4. Save!

Update default moderator


Session moderator

The session moderator will be the default moderator unless you’ve updated the moderator on the confirmed session itself. A session moderator must have Zoom synced in order to populate a unique Zoom link. 

  • If the session moderator changes, the link field will automatically update for confirmed participants, as the email field is a variable. 
  • If there is not a session moderator, the default moderator will be assigned to the session.

To set or update the session moderator:

1. Go to the "Confirmed sessions" tab of the active project

2. Select the pencil icon on the session you'd like to set or update with a session moderator

3. Select a moderator from the drop down

4. If they have a synced Zoom account, the Zoom logo will appear next to their name

5. Select a location: choose "Generate Zoom meeting" or type in a link for "Add a custom location"

6. Save!

Updating session moderator

Calendar events

Coming soon!

This feature will include the ability to:

  • For researchers with synced calendars: Receive the Zoom link in the calendar event
  • For participants: Receive the link in their calendar event if they’ve opted to add the session to their calendar after confirming

If you do not have a Zoom account, or want to include a different link type for participants such as Google Meet, Webex, etc., learn how to do that here.

Was this page helpful?
YesNo

Related topics

New to User Interviews? Get started for free 👇

Need Help?
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.